Studio Stint

I will be locking myself into the studio for the next 4 days to get through a massive list of tasks before hitting the road.

I do not yet have any type of telecommunicaiton set up in my office space, so time to time I checking my emails and socia media outlets on my handheld device.

On September 20th I depart from Cape Breton Island for Halifax, NS (to pick up 4 pieces that I must then ship to Moncton, NB.

But first I will be doing some outreach (as a part of my residency at Unama’ki College) and research on the anitpcipated future of Mi’kmaw Basket. Then teaching a 2 day intensive course where each pre-selected participant will make a form.

Then continuing on to Moncton to Galerie D’Art – Louise et Reuben Cohen for a group exhibition which opens on September 25th.

I will be performing live at the Opening and then again the next day, for an intervention at the University Law School Library. (Stay tuned).

Then after the show in Moncton, I will be traveling to Halifax and then onwards to the lovely town of Antigonish, NS, where I have been invited to participate at the Annual AntiGONIGHT Festival. There I will be collaborating with some local indigenous performers to create a durational site specific performance based audio piece.

Then back to Halifax to rest for a night, before catching a flight leaving Canada and to the UK. Where I will reside at the Scottish Sculpture Workshops for a 10 day Make/WorkShop Residency, through the University of Edinburgh School of Arts

and the Scottish Sculpture Workshops in Lumsden.

For now I will leave you with this quote I found online to motivate me to work in the studio for the next 4 days.

 

“Art is spirituality in drag.”  ~Jennifer Yane

 

Leave a Reply

