Boxes within boxes

The past few weeks have been very busy and the fall will just get even more so.
At the Charlottetown PEI – Art In The Open Festival my wife (Angella Parsons) collaborated for the first time on a piece of art. Normally, we work together by supporting one another with our own individual art practices and provide critical feedback in progression, but never before have we produced an art piece together from beginning to end and have played such an integral role equally and both be activators in the performance.
In the development of El-noo-wee-sim-k=L’nuwisimk we were interested in exploring the personal and interpersonal relations within the mechanics of language, but also appreciating the intimacy of our actions as life partners, understanding the references of historical power duos in performance art such as Abramović and Ulay as well as Fusco and Gomez-Pena who have at various times in their careers collaborated on works of art that challenge the public vs. private space as well as investigating the “otherness” of one or both of the performers background or language.
We both quite enjoyed workings with one another and I suspect there may be more collaborations coming in the future.
In other news, this spring I have been officially appointed to the Arts Nova Scotia Board of Directors. This is truly an honour to have an opportunity to engage in dialogue about the current circumstances of the Province’s involvement of the arts in our communities and to have the opportunity to advocate for my fellow artists is something I take very seriously.
Also as you can see from my past posting, I was the artist in residence at Unama’ki College at CBU.
Now I can officially announce that I have been named the Indigenous Artist In Residence at Unama’ki College in Cape Breton until July 2014. My job there will be to maintain a studio practice and to open my studio regularly to the university community and the general public, so they can view what a professional artists studio looks like and to witness the progress of production for exhibitions, presentations and community workshops. I will also develop and teach 6 credits in the form of various intensive seminars that are related directly to my own practice.
This October I will be attending a 10 day Make/Work Shop at the Scottish Sculpture Workshops in Lumsden, Scotland.
This workshop will feature 5 Canadian Artists and 5 Scottish Artists who have been brought together by the University of Edinburgh’s, School of Arts and the Naked Craft Network. I am very much looking forward to the workshop and will be looking to integrate this program into my residency at CBU.
In regards to exhibitions I have a couple of festival and group show time slots coming up.
I will post those later this weekend.
For now, busy prepping for our Studio Open house today at 455 Prince Street in Sydney, NS from 2pm to 8pm.
Come on by and drop in to check stuff out and have some refreshments!

Leave a Reply

